Sufjan Stevens – Lamentations (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 31:15 minutes | 309 MB | Genre: Electronic, Ambient
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Asthmatic Kitty

Last year, two days after Sufjan Stevens released his grandiose, depressive electro-pop opus The Ascension, his biological father died. Naturally, this set off an emotional chain reaction, and naturally, Sufjan has processed all those feelings through music — a lot of music. Last week he began releasing Convocations, a series of five instrumental albums spanning 49 tracks over two and a half hours. By the first week of May, they’ll all be released together as a five-LP set.

The first of them, Meditations, premiered last Thursday at noon. Today, at the same hour, the second volume has arrived. Lamentations shares its name with a book of mournful poetry in the Old Testament as well as a track on The Ascension built around the refrain “I am the future, define the future.” There are no words in these lamentations, though, just more keyboard-based instrumentals like the one Sufjan previewed earlier this week. Today’s premiere is once again paired with part of a longform generative video art piece created by Mexican artist Melissa Fuentes.

1. Lamentation I (03:48)
2. Lamentation II (02:25)
3. Lamentation III (03:17)
4. Lamentation IV (01:59)
5. Lamentation V (04:11)
6. Lamentation VI (04:43)
7. Lamentation VII (01:51)
8. Lamentation VIII (03:35)
9. Lamentation IX (03:29)
10. Lamentation X (01:57)


bestalbums.xyz_SufjanStevensLamentati0ns202124441.rar – 309.1 MB