Moby – Play (1999/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 01:03:05 minutes | 1,47 GB | Genre: Electronic
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Mute Records Ltd.
Recorded: 1998–1999

Following a notorious flirtation with alternative rock, Moby returned to the electronic dance mainstream on the 1997 album I Like to Score. With 1999’s Play, he made yet another leap back toward the electronica base that had passed him by during the mid-’90s. The first two tracks, “Honey” and “Find My Baby,” weave short blues or gospel vocal samples around rather disinterested breakbeat techno. This version of blues-meets-electronica is undoubtedly intriguing to the all-important NPR crowd, but it is more than just a bit gimmicky to any techno fans who know their Carl Craig from Carl Cox. Fortunately, Moby redeems himself in a big way over the rest of the album with a spate of tracks that return him to the evocative, melancholy techno that’s been a specialty since his early days. The tinkly piano line and warped string samples on “Porcelain” frame a meaningful, devastatingly understated vocal from the man himself, while “South Side” is just another pop song by someone who shouldn’t be singing — that is, until the transcendent chorus redeems everything. Surprisingly, many of Moby’s vocal tracks are highlights; he has an unerring sense of how to frame his fragile vocals with sympathetic productions. Occasionally, the similarities to contemporary dance superstars like Fatboy Slim and Chemical Brothers are just a bit too close for comfort, as on the stale big-beat anthem “Bodyrock.” Still, Moby shows himself back in the groove after a long hiatus, balancing his sublime early sound with the breakbeat techno evolution of the ’90s. –John Bush

1 Honey 3:28
2 Find My Baby 3:59
3 Porcelain 4:01
4 Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad? 4:24
5 South Side 3:49
6 Rushing 3:00
7 Bodyrock 3:36
8 Natural Blues 4:13
9 Machete 3:37
10 7 1:02
11 Run On 3:45
12 Down Slow 1:35
13 If Things Were Perfect 4:18
14 Everloving 3:25
15 Inside 4:48
16 Guitar Flute & String 2:09
17 The Sky Is Broken 4:18
18 My Weakness 3:37


M0byPlay19999624.part1.rar – 1024.0 MB
M0byPlay19999624.part2.rar – 534.7 MB