Aretha Franklin – Spirit In The Dark (1970/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 39:08 minutes | 1,58 GB | Genre: R&B
Official Digital Download – Source: | @ Rhino Atlantic

For the First Time – Digitally Released As High Resolution Downloads 192kHz/24bit Classic Soul Titles from the Archives of Atlantic Records and Rhino Records.

Queen of soul, Aretha Franklin, released a monster recording in 1970, with her album, Spirit In The Dark. The album often under appreciated thunders with Franklin’s musical genius and boasts her ravishing piano playing. The album peaked at #2 on Billboard’s Top R&B Albums and includes the hit singles, “The Thrill Is Gone” and “You and Me.” Franklin also won the GRAMMY® Award for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance for the smash tune, “Don’t Play That Song.” Experience the power of one of music’s greatest legends as a pristine hi-res download.

Spirit in the Dark was one of Aretha Franklin’s more overlooked albums from her Atlantic prime, despite the inclusion of a couple hit singles (the title track and “Don’t Play That Song”). The disc includes five of her own compositions (the most she ever recorded for a single album) and her usual eclectic choice of cover material. On this record, the covers ranged from B.B. King and Dr. John to Jimmy Reed and Goffin/King’s “Oh Not My Baby.” The album also benefits from great backup players: Both the Muscle Shoals rhythm section and the Dixie Flyers contributed to the sessions, and Duane Allman lends his guitar to a couple of tracks. Though it doesn’t rank with her very best Atlantic LPs, it’s an exuberant and remarkably consistent effort.

01 – Don’t Play That Song
02 – The Thrill Is Gone [From Yesterday’s Kiss]03 – Pullin’
04 – You and Me
05 – Honest I Do
06 – Spirit in the Dark
07 – When the Battle is Over
08 – One Way Ticket
09 – Try Matty’s
10 – That’s All I Want From You
11 – Oh No Not My Baby
12 – Why I Sing the Blues


ArethaFranklinSpiritInTheDark19702012HDTracks24192.part1.rar – 1024.0 MB
ArethaFranklinSpiritInTheDark19702012HDTracks24192.part2.rar – 567.1 MB