Anouar Brahem – The Astounding Eyes Of Rita (2009/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 53:18 minutes | 484 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Digital booklet | © ECM Records

The Astounding Eyes of Rita is an album by oud player and composer Anouar Brahem recorded in Italy in 2008 and released on the ECM label in 2009. Writing for The Guardian reviewer John Fordham observed “In recent years, Brahem’s work has been more refined and reflective than groove-inclined, but this vivacious quartet set marks a return to the chemistry of Thimar, and it’s a richly varied and often thrilling piece of world-jazz”.

A delightful new project, assembled by Tunisian oud master Brahem with producer Manfred Eicher. Combination of bass clarinet with oud suggests a link to Anouar’s “Thimar” trio, but this East/West line-up often feels closer to the more traditionally-inclined sounds of “Barzakh” or “Conte de l’Incroyable Amour”. Klaus Gesing, from Norma Winstone’s Trio, and Björn Meyer, from Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin, are both players with an affinity for musical sources beyond jazz, and they interact persuasively inside Brahem’s music. A dance of dark, warm sounds, urged onward by the darbouka and frame drum of Lebanaese percussionist Khaled Yassine. The album is dedicated to the memory of Palestinian poet Mahmoud Darwish.

01 – The Lover Of Beirut
02 – Dance With Waves
03 – Stopover At Djibouti
04 – The Astounding Eyes Of Rita
05 – Al Birwa
06 – Galilee Mon Amour
07 – Waking State
08 – For No Apparent Reason

Produced by Manfred Eicher. Engineer: Stefano Amerio.
Recorded in October 2008 Artesuono Studio, Udine.

Anouar Brahem – oud
Klaus Gesing – bass clarinet
Björn Meyer – bass
Khaled Yassine – darbouka, bendir


An0uarBrahemTheAst0undingEyes0fRita2009HDTracks24441.rar – 498.6 MB