Andres Gabetta & Cappella Gabetta – Music at the Habsburg Court (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:02:04 minutes | 679 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © deutsche harmonia mundi

This new recording by ‘Cappella Gabetta’, the ensemble founded by Sol Gabetta** and her baroque violin playing brother Andreas Gabetta, features music performed in the Austrian Habsburg court from the end of the 16th century through to the 17th century.

During this era the Habsburg court was actively incorporating Italian music. Except for the Vivaldi, the album concentrates on the work of the more unfamiliar composers, with an emphasis on the solo violin, expertly performed by Andreas Gabetta.

The ‘Cappella Gabetta’ has enabled Sol Gabetta to make one of her musical dreams come true. She, her brother – concertmaster Andres Gabetta – and a hand-picked team of highly qualified musicians from the same musical background devise repertoires of baroque and early classical music, which they perform on original instruments at concerts and in the studio.

As well as performing masterpieces by famous baroque and early classical composers, the Cappella is also keen to introduce audiences to rare gems by lesser known composers such as Giovanni Platti, Fortunato Chelleri, Andrea Zani and Johann Adolph Hasse. It has developed a particularly close working relationship with Schloss Wiesentheid music archive.

The ensemble was established in December 2010, and has already made very successful guest appearances in Paris (Salle Gaveau), Hamburg (Musikhalle), Munich (Prinzregententheater), Zurich (Tonhalle), Berlin (Philharmonie) and Istanbul, as well as at illustrious festivals such as the Bremen Music Festival, Festival Baroque de Lyon, Rheingau Music Festival and others.


Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Concerto for Violin, Strings and Continuo in A Minor, RV 358, Op. 9, No. 5
1 I. Adagio – Presto 03:22
2 II. Largo 01:35
3 III. Allegro 02:52

Angelo Ragazzi (1680-1750)
Sonata à 4 for Violin, Strings and Continuo in G Major, Op. 1, No. 8
4 I. Allegro 03:12
5 II. Adagio 03:23
6 III. Allegro 02:04

Joseph Umstatt (1711-1762)
Concerto No. 6 for Violin, Strings and Continuo in B-Flat Major
7 I. Allegro 02:52
8 II. Adagio 02:09
9 III. Allegro 02:27

Joseph Timmer (1708-1771)
Concerto No. 5 for Violin, Strings and Continuo in C Major
10 I. Allegro 07:46
11 II. Adagio 04:27
12 III. Allegro 06:03

Angelo Ragazzi (1680-1750)
Sonata à 4 for Violin, Strings and Continuo in G Major, Op. 1, No. 6
13 I. Allegro 03:17
14 II. Aria. Un poco andante 06:35
15 III. Allegro 02:23

Joseph Umstatt (1711-1762)
Concerto No. 5 for Violin, Strings and Continuo in C Major
16 I. Allegro 02:31
17 II. Adagio 02:30
18 III. Allegro 02:25

Andres Gabetta, violin, direction
Cappella Gabetta


AndrsGabettaMusicattheHabsburgC0urt20162448Q0buz.rar – 699.4 MB