Andreas Haefliger – Perspectives 7 (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:26:45 minutes | 1,29 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © BIS

Since 2004, Andreas Haefliger has been devising a series of recital programmes named Perspectives, presenting them in concert and on disc. Each programme focusses on one or two Beethoven sonatas, juxtaposed with works by other composers (ranging from Mozart to Berio) which in some way or other interact with Beethoven’s music, and with each other. The seventh instalment in the series was premièred at the Edinburgh Festival in 2017, and was described by one reviewer as ‘Inspiringly commanding, thoughtful, lucid and sheerly beautiful’ (The Herald, Glasgow).

Perspectives 7 opens with Alban Berg’s Piano Sonata, Op. 1, a highly concentrated work in which most of the music can be traced back to the two opening gestures. This is followed by Liszt’s impressionistic Légende No. 1 ‘St. Francis of Assisi: The Sermon to the Birds’, in which we seem to hear a flock of birds chirp warble and sing. At the core of the programme is Beethoven’s Op. 101 Sonata – a work which in Haefliger’s opinion points more clearly towards Schumann than any other of the composer’s sonatas. But the grand finale of this amply-filled disc (86 minutes!) is nevertheless a highly colourful and expressive performance of Mussorgsky’s Pictures from an Exhibition, recorded – as is the entire disc – in the exceptional acoustics of the Mozartsaal of the Vienna Konzerthaus.

01. Piano Sonata, Op. 1
02. 2 Légendes, S. 175: No. 1, St. François d’Assise-La prédication aux oiseaux
03. Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major, Op. 101: I. Etwas lebhaft und mit der innigsten Empfindung
04. Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major, Op. 101: II. Lebhaft. Marschmäẞig
05. Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major, Op. 101: III. Langsam und sehnsuchtsvoll
06. Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major, Op. 101: IV. Geschwind, doch nicht zu sehr, und mit Entschlossenheit
07. Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade I
08. Pictures at an Exhibition: I. Gnomus
09. Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade II
10. Pictures at an Exhibition: II. Old Castle
11. Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade III
12. Pictures at an Exhibition: III. Tuileries
13. Pictures at an Exhibition: IV. Bydło
14. Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade IV
15. Pictures at an Exhibition: V. Ballet of the Chickens in Their Shells
16. Pictures at an Exhibition: VI. Samuel Goldenberg & Schmuÿle
17. Pictures at an Exhibition: Promenade V
18. Pictures at an Exhibition: VII. The Marketplace at Limoges
19. Pictures At An Exhibition: Viiia. Catacombæ (Sepulcrum Romanum)
20. Pictures At An Exhibition: Viiib. Con Mortuis In Lingua Mortua
21. Pictures at an Exhibition: IX. The Hut on Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yagá)
22. Pictures at an Exhibition: X. The Great Gate at Kiev

Andreas Haefliger, piano


AndreasHaefligerPerspectives720182496.part1.rar – 1024.0 MB
AndreasHaefligerPerspectives720182496.part2.rar – 344.4 MB