Anat Fort Trio & Gianluigi Trovesi – Birdwatching (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 48:28 minutes | 824 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: highresaudio | Artwork: Digital booklet | © ECM

For her third ECM album, Israeli pianist Anat Fort augments her long-established trio of bassist Gary Wang and drummer Roland Schneider with a special guest, Italian reedman Gianluigi Trovesi. Fort and Trovesi have made a number of appearances together in recent years and Birdwatching, with its alert sense of joy in the playing and lively bright music, takes their rapport to the next level. Quartet music is interspersed with improvised solo piano as the story unfolds in a series of vignettes.

Many of my songs are inspired by movements of things in nature: animals, clouds, winds, water … I didn’t know what this record would be called but when I listened to the finished master I knew it had to do with the movement of birds and with watching, listening, waiting. It is as much about birdwatching outside as about watching that inner bird, the soul. – Anat Fort

01 – First Rays
02 – Earth Talks
03 – Not The Perfect Storm
04 – It’s Your Song
05 – Jumpin’ In
06 – Milarepa (Pt. 1)
07 – Song Of The Phoenix (Pt. 1)
08 – Song Of The Phoenix (Pt. 2)
09 – Murmuration
10 – Meditation For A New Year
11 – Inner Voices
12 – Sun

Produced by Manfred Eicher. Engineered by Stefano Amerio.
Recorded November 2013 Auditorio Stelio Molo RSI, Lugano.

Anat Fort – piano, compositions
Gary Wang – double bass
Roland Schneider – drums
Gianluigi Trovesi – alto clarinet


AnatF0rtTri0GianluigiTr0vesiBirdwatching2016HRA24882.rar – 849.1 MB