America – America Live (1977/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 46:30 minutes | 958 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Rhino/Warner Bros.

Recorded in July 1977 at the Greek Theater in Los Angeles, California, America Live features hits such as “Muskrat Love”, “Ventura Highway”, and “A Horse With No Name”. The album was produced by George Martin and was released in October 1977.

America Live marked the beginning of the group’s history as a duo. Recorded at the last of a series of four shows at the Greek Theatre in Los Angeles in July of 1977, with film music legend Elmer Bernstein conducting the orchestra and George Martin producing, the album closed out the group’s original Warner Bros. contract and was mostly released for that reason, following the Harbor album and the departure of co-founder Dan Peek. Their ninth album in seven years (counting a greatest-hits compilation), it filled in a hole in the group’s history and represented America surprisingly well, given the circumstances of its release. Gerry Beckley and Dewey Bunnell are both in excellent voice, and one could hardly ask for a sharper or more balanced live recording. The expected mid-’70s hits such as ‘Tin Man,’ ‘Ventura Highway,’ and ‘Sister Golden Hair’ (all brilliantly sung, and worth the price of the album) are here, and more modestly charting but highly personal tracks like ‘Amber Cascades’ are represented as well, along with early classics like ‘I Need You’ and ‘A Horse With No Name’ (the latter done with a beautifully elegant yet restrained orchestral arrangement). One does wonder, however, if there were more to this show than the 14 songs represented on the original LP, which might make for a good CD expansion someday. On the other hand, given that Warner Bros. has never seen fit to release this album on CD anywhere but in Europe and Japan, that might be too much to hope for.“ ~~AllMusic Review by Bruce Eder

1. Tin Man 03:38
2. Muskrat Love 03:08
3. I Need You 02:41
4. Old Man Took 03:29
5. Daisy Jane 03:05
6. Company 03:22
7. Hollywood 03:52
8. Sergeant Darkness 02:57
9. Amber Cascades 02:47
10. To Each His Own 03:17
11. Another Try 02:60
12. Ventura Highway 03:29
13. Sister Golden Hair 03:27
14. A Horse With No Name 04:18

Dewey Bunnell, lead and backing vocals, guitars, percussion
Gerry Beckley, lead and backing vocals, keyboards, guitars, bass, harmonica
Dan Peek, lead and backing vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, harmonica
Jim Calire, saxophone, keyboards
David Dickey, bass
Willie Leacox, drums
Tom Walsh, percussion


AmericaAmericaLive19772014HDTracks2496.rar – 986.7 MB