Alessandro Simonetto – Yann Tiersen: Amélie & Other Piano Works (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:07:08 minutes | 989 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © Aevea Classics

French composer Yann Tiersen has written music for various instruments, including guitar, piano, synthetizer, violin, accordion, xylophone, and melodica. Some of his compositions have been used in film scoring, such as “Amélie”, whose soundtrack primarily features excerpts from his first three studio albums (“La Valse des monstres”, “Rue des cascades”, and “La Phare”).

The present recording features Tiersen’s original solo piano works selected from his very first album, but also from “L’Absente”, “Les Retrouvailles,” and from his last work – “EUSA”. It also includes some piano works found in the soundtracks for “Amélie” and “Goodbye Lenin!”.

Described by Eric James (music associate of Sir Charles S. Chaplin) as “a tremendous natural talent,” Alessandro Simonetto gives a soft touch and poetical sense to the music. Similar assessments were expressed about his latest recording [Satie, E.: Early & Esoteric Works – ÆVEA AE16019/3 CD’s]. But in this new recording we also find a particular rhythmic approach not only to what we identify as minimalistic music or purely “film music,” but also rock and avant-garde.

In addition to this extraordinary contribution to the genre, Simonetto is scheduled to record the extensive soundtracks for “Goodbye Lenin!” and “EUSA” soon.

The recording was made by using historical Brüel & Kjær microphones, 110 volts, and Prism Sound equipment. Simonetto plays here his own Steinway D-274.

01. Rue de cascades La piece vide
02. Rue de cascades Naomi
03. Rue de cascades Le vieux en veut encore
04. Rue de cascades Comptine d’ete I
05. Rue de cascades Comptine d’ete II
06. Rue de cascades Comptine d’ete III
07. La phare Sur le fil
08. La phare La dispute
09. La phare La chute
10. L’absente Le retour
11. L’absente L’echec
12. L’absente L’absente
13. Amelie La valse d’Amelie
14. Amelie Le moulin
15. Amelie Comptine d’un autre ete. L’apres-midi
16. Goodbye Lenin Summer 78
17. Goodbye Lenin I Saw Daddy Today
18. Goodbye Lenin First Rendez-vous
19. Les retrouvailles La plage
20. Les retrouvailles Mary
21. Les retrouvailles Plus d’hiver
22. Les retrouvailles Le matin
23. Les retrouvailles La jetee
24. Eusa Lok Gweltaz
25. Eusa Porz Goret

Alessandro Simonetto, piano

Recorded at Saletta acustica ‘Eric James’, Pove del Grappa, 2018 Engineered by Alessandro Simonetto


Alessandr0Sim0nett0YannTiersenAmlie0therPian0W0rks20182488.2.rar – 1019.2 MB