Alan Wakeman – The Octet Broadcasts 1969 and 1979 (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:00:00 minutes | 1,31 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Gearbox Records

The Octet Broadcasts is made up of two BBC sessions from 1969 and 1979 respectively. Taken and mastered from the original analogue tapes by Gearbox, the album offers a snapshot of a time when British jazz was at another high, featuring such names as John Taylor, Alan Skidmore, Paul Lytton, and Art Themen, who themselves were contemporaries of and collaborated with the likes of Evan Parker, Michael Garrick, Ian Carr, and Roscoe Mitchell.

Wakeman, influenced by Duke Ellington and Charles Mingus and mentored by Mike Westbrook, was composing singular, large ensemble pieces at a time when jazz had long left the limelight and rock was in the foreground. His brand of warm, pastoral jazz, reminiscent of brass bands and traditional chorales whilst also fit to bursting with free improvisation and dramatic motifs, is representative of a magical period in British jazz which deserves to be unearthed and heard again.

Disc 1 (29:09)
1. Dreams (Intro) (00:06)
2. Dreams (10:10)
3. Forever (Intro) (01:00)
4. Forever (08:09)
5. Merry-Go-Round (Intro) (00:53)
6. Merry-Go-Round (08:51)

Disc 2 (30:51)
1. Charles Fox Introduction (02:54)
2. Chaturanga (06:41)
3. Manhattan Variation (07:59)
4. Vienna (05:38)
5. Robatsch Defense (01:09)
6. Kingside Breakthrough (05:58)
7. Charles Fox Conclusion (00:32)


AlanWakemanThe0ctetBr0adcasts1969and197920202496.part1.rar – 1024.0 MB
AlanWakemanThe0ctetBr0adcasts1969and197920202496.part2.rar – 367.4 MB